Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Salt to the Sea

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine where she spotlights upcoming releases.

This week I am waiting on. . . 

Salt to the Sea
By: Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Philomel Books
Release Date: February 9, 2016

The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.

In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.
Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity.


  1. I have been meaning to read Ruta Sepety's forever! I own her other books and I love historical fiction. I always punch myself for not getting around to them yet. With her new book coming out maybe I will try and read them all this coming year.

  2. This one definitely sounds so good! Very interested to read it myself. Great pick!
    Check out my WOW

  3. This book looks soo good! I want to read it really bad.

  4. Ooh nice! Totally new to me! Hope you thoroughly enjoy it once you read it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)


We love your comments!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...