Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Book Review & Tour Giveaway: Transcendent


I was super excited when Reading Lark was approached to be part of Lesley Livingston's blog tour celebrating the release of her last book in the Starling trilogy, Transcendent.  I have followed Lesley's writing career since her debut novel, Wondrous Strange, and she continues to weave exceptional stories based on adventure, legends and mythology.  If you need any push to start reading her books, this is it.  Have a look at my review (non-spoilery for the most part), and read about Lesley and enter the giveaway at the end.  And don't forget to follow the tour, and be sure to enter the giveaway at each stop!

Transcendent (Starling #3)  
Published By: Harper Teen 
Publication Date:  December 23rd, 2014 
Page Count:  352 pages 
Buy it at:  Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound 
Source:  ARC Kindly Provided by the Publisher 
Audience:  Young Adult Fantasy 

 Wow!  That was quite a ride!  A long time ago, after completing the Wondrous Strange trilogy, I SO wished for more of this world from Lesley…particularly more of Fennrys.  And she sure did deliver.  While the Starling books do take place in the same world, with some favourites from the original trilogy making an appearance along with Fennrys, this was still predominantly Mason Starling’s story with Fenn as a rather large (and HOT) co-star.  In my reviews for books one and two, I stated that you did not necessarily need to read the Wondrous Strange books but you DO get so much more out of this story if you do…but at the very least…I would suspect that many would like to read them if they haven’t already following Mason & Fennrys’s journey. 

Picking up where Descendant left off, the pace of the story didn’t really let up…at all.  Revelations were a plenty and the many questions I had all along were answered. 

 Tricked into taking up Odin’s spear, Mason has taken up the mantel and huge responsibility of Valkyrie…the ultimate chooser of the slain of Norse legends, and catalyst for the impending Ragnarok…the Norse term for the apocalyptic ending of the world.  Her love, Fennrys, lay dying at her feet, and having just learned of her family’s betrayal, she certainly had a lot to overcome.  But Mason was strong willed and smart.  But was it enough to defeat the impending Ragnarok and save the world…with limited casualties?  I always felt she had the tools and support to do it…but I have to admit it looked pretty bleak. 

 Fennrys had his own obstacles as well.  I knew from his previous tenure in the Wondrous Strange books, there was much more to him than the impulsive yet self-serving Janus guard.  I KNEW there was much more behind that mask…and we got to see it full-on (in more ways than one), in this new chance at life (even if the reasons behind his second chance were perhaps nefariously orchestrated).  I think he softened as his love was reciprocated this time around, and having learned the truths of his history and why’s and how’s of where he ended up .  Not to mention, he had my heart melting with every searing look and awkward smile he gave Mason. 

 Mason and Fennrys had a lot going against them…prophecies, fate, magick…it really felt like the cards were stacked against them.  But I loved, loved, loved how both worked together in this last book.  They are just awesome together. 

 Lesley took on the enormous task of mixing several mythologies into this trilogy…Norse, Roman, Greek, Egyptian…did I leave out any?  Oh, yeah…celtic!  I will admit that, at times, it was a bit hard to follow…including the terminology of much of the Norse legends…like trying to remember if Einherjar was an event or a person, for example…but when I stopped myself from getting hung up on details and just sat back and enjoyed the story, it didn’t really matter.  I also loved how key characters from the Norse legends we have heard about in other popular stories, like Loki, and Asgard, were tied into all of this.  I found it all quite fascinating. 

 This last book in the Starling series ties up all loose ends and left me feeling completely satisfied.  Albeit, I would still love MORE!  How about another trilogy with Kelly, Sonny, Mason and Fennrys and all the other friends we have come to love?  Hmmm?  I hope you’re listening Lesley!





LOVE CONQUERS 

 On a storm-swept terrace high above the streets of Manhattan, Mason Starling holds the fate of the world in her hands as her beloved Fennrys lies bleeding at her feet, his life hanging in the balance. The ancient Norse prophecy of Ragnarok stands poised on the knife edge of fulfillment. Mason’s transformation into a Valkyrie—a chooser of the slain and the one who will ultimately bring about the end of the world—is complete. Still, she remains determined to thwart her father’s apocalyptic desires. Whatever is to come, it won’t happen because of what the prophecy foretold, or what Gunnar Starling has planned, or what the fates have already decided. What happens next will be up to Mason and the Fennrys Wolf. The world had better hope they haven’t reached the limits of what their souls and swords can survive. 

 Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series, and set in the same universe as Lesley Livingston’s much-loved WONDROUS STRANGE trilogy, with roots in Greek, Roman, Norse, Egyptian, and Celtic myths and legends, this thrilling conclusion to the acclaimed Starling trilogy is filled to the hilt with sweeping adventure and soaring romance. 

About The Author:



Lesley Livingston is a writer and actress living in Toronto. She has a master's degree in English from the University of Toronto, where she specialized in Arthurian Literature and Shakespeare. She frequently performs with the Tempest Theatre Group, of which she is a co-founder. She is also the author of WONDROUS STRANGE and DARKLIGHT. 

 You can visit Lesley online: 
Tour Schedule: 

Week One: 
12/15/2014- Wholly Books- Review 
12/16/2014- Reading YA Rocks- Interview 
12/17/2014- Reading Lark- Review 
12/18/2014- Two Chicks on Books- Guest Post 
12/19/2014- Please Feed The Bookworm-Review 

 Week Two: 
12/22/2014- Parajunkee- Interview 
12/23/2014- Wishful Endings- Review 
12/24/2014- Mom With A Kindle- Interview 
12/25/2014- Crossroad Reviews - Review 
12/26/2014- Bewitched Bookworms- Guest Post


No comments:

Post a Comment

We love your comments!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...