Book Review: Forget Me Not

Forget Me Not (Ceruleans Book 2) 
Author: Megan Tayte 
Published By: Heaven Afire 
Publication Date: 20 February 2015 
Page Count: 338 
Buy it on Amazon 
Source: e-book provided by author 
Audience: Young Adult - Paranormal

Megan Tayte has once again delivered a powerful story about life and death in the second book of her Cerulean series. I will try not to give away any spoilers for this story, but if you have not read the first book, I highly recommend you stop reading this review because it will definitely give many things away.

Forget Me Not picks up very soon after Death Wish, the first in the Cerulean series. Now that Scarlett knows about her powers, realizes she is dying and will become a Cerulean upon her death, she takes the little time that she has left to be with those she loves. She struggles throughout the entire story, trying to decide whether or not she should tell her mom, her boyfriend, and her best friend the truth. Her sister is not dead as she thought, but taken by the Fallen, the enemies of the Ceruleans, and Scarlett will do whatever it takes to get her back, which includes accepting her fate. However, deciding this and actually doing it are two different things, it’s much harder than she realizes because Death seems to be stalking her. Scarlett is plagued by near fatal accidents and if Jude, her Cerulean guide, is not by her side when she dies then she won’t come back as a Cerulean. It also becomes increasingly more difficult to keep the fact that she is dying from those closest to her as she gets sicker and sicker. Soon however, that decision is taken from her and she must pick up the broken pieces of her life before it’s too late to do so. And in the end she understands why her sister, Sienna, chose to go the way she did.

I probably spent over half the time crying as I read this book. The story is once again less about the paranormal aspects as it is about the lives of Scarlett and everyone around her. It’s about a teenage girl who has to cope with the fact that she is going to die before her next birthday and she will have to leave everyone she loves behind to deal with the tragedy. And it’s not an easy, painless death; Scarlet suffers as she deteriorates from the brain tumor. It was heart-wrenching, watching Scarlett suffer alone, keeping the pain locked away so she wouldn’t have to put Luke, Cara, or her mom through knowing that she would soon be gone. Megan Tayte is an extraordinary author, able to evoke those emotions in her readers.

In my review of the first book, I said I wanted a bit more of the paranormal, but in this book even though you do see more, it wasn’t as much of a bother. I understood that this part of the overall story was about Scarlett and her acceptance of what was happening to her, what her future fate would be, and putting her affairs in order while she could. This was the teenage romance, encompassing everything she possibly could into the months she had left, and it was about the reconnecting with her mom, building that relationship so there would be no regrets. This story is about making forever memories, not just for herself, but for everyone in her life.

Since I did spend a good portion of the book crying, I can say that the imagery and the characters were brilliant. You connect so easily with the characters and can see everything happening as if it were a movie or real life. It is an emotional novel, constantly pulling at the heart strings, it also has you smiling and laughing, and even feeling angry at the unfairness of it all. Tayte did a wonderful job of bringing these things to life.

Tayte has a flow to her words that is often times melodic. She has a descriptive voice that makes you want to see the places or experience the events that she creates on paper.

I am looking forward to reading the continuing story of Scarlett, of finally meeting Sienna, and I hope it’s not the last we will see of some of the other characters.

One Last Thought: There were only a few minor grammatical errors, nothing to detract from the story itself.

Favorite Thing About this Book: I loved the emotions that this story brought out of me. The caring and love that I felt for each character.

First Sentence: Beneath the very bluest of heavens, a sea of black, broken only by velvety green grass and the greying granite of grave markers.

Favorite Character: Luke and Cara, brother and sister, are my two favorite characters.

Least Favorite Character: I have no least favorite characters in part two of this on-going story.


The Ceruleans: mere mortals infused with power over life and death. Five books; one question: If the might of the heavens were in your hands, would you be sinner or saint?

Death is stalking Scarlett Blake. As if the encroaching darkness in her head wasn’t enough, she’s become disturbingly accident prone. Falling off a cliff isn’t ideal when all you want is as much time as possible to live, to love.

Her fate is horrifying. Unbearable. And inescapable. No one can save Scarlett from The End that’s looming. Not Jude, the Cerulean who is intent on Claiming her. Not Luke, the boy who is intent on loving her.

The clock is ticking, louder with every heartbeat. Now Scarlett must decide how best to protect the people she loves. Will she trust in Jude and the life-after-death he promises? Will she stand against the Fallen, who have her sister captive? Will she carry the burden of her death alone – every headache, every hallucination, every wrenching, aching emotion?

And when the clock falls silent, when the darkness eclipses the light, will Scarlett fight for life? Or will she have no choice but to surrender?